The Citizens Advisory Panel focuses on water resource development projects. The panel receives information from SAWS staff about current and proposed future water supply projects, discusses the information and then produces a benchmarking document based upon established criteria.

Nov. 17 – Meeting Agenda

Download the latest CAP meeting agenda scheduled for Nov. 17 at 6:00 p.m.

CAP Committee Members

robert sheldon

Robert Sheldon,
APR, Fellow PRSA

District 1 Chair

Robert Sheldon is currently chairman of the Citizens Advisory Panel for San Antonio Water System, a volunteer group that provides oversight and input on water resource planning and delivery. He is a nationally recognized public relations professional and has been an accredited member of the Public Relations Society of America (PRSA) for more than four decades. In 2014, Sheldon was inducted into the national PRSA College of Fellows in recognition of his lifetime career accomplishments and contributions to the profession.

He has written extensively on water-related topics throughout his career and is currently a member of the environmental committee of the San Antonio Manufacturers Association. Sheldon is author of the book Lighting the Way, 75 Years of Service: Medina Electric Cooperative, 1938-2013.

A native of Minneapolis, Minn., he holds a bachelor’s degree in journalism from the University of Minnesota and a certificate in electronics from the Metropolitan Community and Technical College in Minneapolis. Sheldon is president of Sheldon Public Relations in San Antonio, a public relations and marketing consultancy. In his leisure time he is a medal-winning 5K runner, tournament skeet shooter, and a participant in long-distance cycling events as a member of the AT&T Cycling Team.

javier garcia

Javier Garcia, P.E.

District 9 Vice Chair

Mr. Javier Garcia is a professional engineer and managing partner of Garcia Infrastructure Consultants, LLC (GIC). GIC is a locally owned civil engineering consulting firm that specializes in the delivery of a wide spectrum of services. GIC serves the great State of Texas with offices in San Antonio and the Rio Grande Valley (Pharr). Prior to starting his own company, Mr. Garcia worked for Weston Solutions in Houston and CH2MHILL in San Antonio. He has successfully delivered numerous water and wastewater related projects across South Texas and has approximately 27-years of experience in this field.

Mr. Garcia is president-elect of the American Council of Engineering Companies (ACEC) and serves as vice-chair of San Antonio Water System (SAWS) Citizens Advisory Panel (CAP). He is an active member of the American Society of Civil Engineers (ASCE), America Water Works Association (AWWA), and WEAT (Water Environmental Association of Texas).

Mr. Garcia was born in Laredo, Texas but grew up in Chicago, Illinois. He received his Bachelor of Science (BS) degree in Civil Engineering (CE) from the University of Texas at Austin in 1991. He began his engineering career in Houston but has called San Antonio home since 2000.

He is married and has two sons, Demitri is a Junior at Central Catholic High School and Alec is an 8th grader at St. Luke’s Episcopal School. He enjoys volunteering, along with his family, at his church and other various area organizations.

Monika Maeckle Monika Maeckle
District 1
Carla Walker Carla Walker
District 2
Yulanee McKnight Yulanee McKnight
District 3
Steven Garcia Steven Garcia
District 4
William Ramos II William Ramos II
District 7
Mitchell Sowards Mitchell Sowards
District 8
Matthew Scott Matthew Scott
District 10
Mayor Mary Dennis Mayor Mary Dennis
City of Live Oak
Cullen Jones Cullen Jones
District 2
Rachel Cywinski Rachel Cywinski
District 3
Denise Ojeda Denise Ojeda
District 3
Melinda Lechuga Melinda Lechuga
District 4
Dr. Yongli Gao Dr. Yongli Gao
District 8
Garland Scott Garland Scott
District 9
Mayor Suzanne de Leon Mayor Suzanne de Leon
City of Balcones Heights
Mayor Robert Werner Mayor Robert Werner
City of Shavano Park