SAWS offices & payment centers will be closed Monday, May 30. Call 210-704-SAWS for emergency assistance.

Construction sites or construction activities that discharge storm water are regulated by Texas Commission on Environmental Quality under the Construction General Permit TXR150000 (PDF).

Stormwater Construction Answers

For information on Construction Storm Water Discharges visit the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) website.

For information on Construction Storm Water Permits go to the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) Web Site.

The Construction Stormwater Ordinance provides SAWS with local authority to enforce stormwater regulations on local construction projects. SAWS stormwater inspectors help to protect water quality by serving as co-permittee with the City of San Antonio and Texas Department of Transportation (TXDOT).This ordinance complies with the City of San Antonio’s Texas Pollutant Discharge Elimination System (TPDES) permit to reduce pollutants in the Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4) as required by the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality (TCEQ) Construction General Permit TXR150000 (PDF).The ordinance directs the use of Best Management Practices (BMPs) on construction sites within the City’s jurisdiction; requires applicable certified Storm Water Pollution Prevention Plans (SWPPP); onsite posted TPDES permits, and certified stormwater inspectors and reports. The ordinance declares the provisions created herein to be in furtherance of regulating the drainage utility; declaring public nuisance; providing penalties, and directing publication.Please send copies of Notices of Intent or Construction Site Notices (NOI/CSN) to stormwaterconstruction@saws.org 48 hours prior to the commencement of construction related activities.The ordinance was approved by San Antonio City Council on June 19, 2014. Download the full, 11-page document in Adobe PDF format.

Contact Name Phone
Tony Lopez, Environmental Protection Specialist II 233-3566
Samantha Bartholomew, Environmental Protection Specialist II 233-3562
Matt Apaez, Environmental Protection Specialist II 233-2419
Ramon Salinas, Environmental Protection Specialist II 233-3647
Erik Hobson, Supervisor 233-3565